top of page

Archidiocesis Cacerensis

The Archdiocese of Cáceres is the Metropolitan See that it comprises the Bicol region with the Dioceses of Legazpi, Sorsogon, Virac, Masbate, Daet and Libmanan as its suffragan Dioceses.  

It directly supervises 93 Parishes with a total Catholic population of 1,526,975 as of 2017. 

Founded in 1595 as a diocese (Nueva Caceres), the Archdiocese of Caceres is one of the first dioceses in the Philippines together with Cebu, Nueva Segovia and Manila, and once had jurisdiction that stretched from Samar in the south and Isabela Province in the north.


The seat of the archdiocese is currently located in Naga City, also known as the Queen City of Bicol. The archdiocese is also home to the Our Lady of Peñafrancia, the Patroness of Bicol.  

Created diocese: August 14, 1595. Elevated to archdiocese: June 29, 1951.

bottom of page